ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL – WAROONA SCHOOL BOARD AGM TUESDAY 24TH NOVEMBER 2020 AT 6.00PM MINUTES

1.0 OPENING AND WELCOME

The meeting was opened at 6.00pm by Peter LeRoy. Michael O'Dwyer delivered an Acknowledgment of Country.

2.0 PRAYER

The School Prayer was led by Michael O'Dwyer.

3.0 ATTENDANCE

3.1 Present

2020 Board Members

Peter LeRoy Chairperson
Jeanette Stampone Secretary
Larry Lucano Treasurer
Michael O'Dwyer Principal

Rebecca Sutton P&F Representative
Natasha William P&F Representative
Bronwyn Webb Board Member
Candice Look Board Member

Other Attendees

Heather Brown
Robyn Trewren
Mia Catalano
Rebecca Cherry
Kate Vidulich
Kathy Allis
Silvana Vitale
Maxine Mulholland
Bethaney Tucker
Samantha Baggetta

Tori Johnson Karen Gear Jan Young Joshua Wells Vicki Hodgson Nila Poasa **Ebony Hewitt** Melissa Fuller Mary Ann Landwehr Leigh Hodgson Harrena Platell Megan LeRoy Peter Hazebroek Deborah Glorie Naomi Pinzone Kayla Farrell Marnie Brett Vicki Fitzpatrick Holly Fitzpatrick Kelly Nottle Simone Magno Brooke McKeever Tessa Ferraro Camille Odorisio

3.2 Apologies

2020 Board Members

Nelly Barr Committee Member

Fr Concord Bagaoisan OSJ Parish Priest

Other Apologies

Georgie Harley

Michelle Ward

Belinda Curtis

Katie Simpson

Tracey Clifford

4.0 CONFIRMATION OF THE PREVIOUS MINUTES

The minutes of the previous AGM held Thursday 21st November 2019 are accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Kate Vidulich Carried: Larry Lucano

5.0 REPORTS

5.1 Principal's Report (Michael O'Dwyer)

The Principal's Report, as presented is attached to these minutes.

5.2 Chairperson's Report (Peter LeRoy)

The Chairperson's Report, as presented is attached to these minutes.

5.3 Treasurer's Report (Larry Lucano)

The Treasurer's Report, as presented is attached to these minutes.

5.4 Parish Report (Fr Concord Bagaoisan)

Fr Concord was an apology and no Parish Report was presented.

5.5 APPROVAL OF REPORTS

The reports, as presented are approved.

Moved: Simone Magno Carried: Candice Look

6.0 CEWA OVERVIEW

Michael O'Dwyer presented update of CEWA Ltd's new governance structure.

- Catholic Education Limited (CEWA Ltd) commenced operating on 1st January 2020.
- All diocesan schools are now part of CEWA Ltd.
- The Catholic Education Commission of WA (CECWA) is the board of CEWA Ltd and has responsibility for governing the Catholic education in WA and for ensuring its financial sustainability.
- The School Board is now referred to as the Catholic School Advisory Council to reflect CEWA Ltd's new governance structure.
- The existing CECWA Catholic School Board Constitution is currently under review by CECWA to ensure appropriateness and consistency

:

- with CEWA Ltd's new governance structure. It is due to be implemented in 2022.
- 2021 is a year of transition. The existing CECWA Catholic School Board Constitution remains in place with some modifications to reflect CEWA Ltd's new governance requirements.

7.0 ELECTION OF SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL

7.1 Nominations

Bronwyn Webb (1 year) does not have to renominate.

Peter LeRoy (6 years), Larry Lucano (2 years), Jeanette Stampone (4 years), Candice Look (4 years) and Nelly Barr (2 years) have come to the end of their two year term. Karen Ruben resigned from her position in October 2020.

This leaves six vacant positions.

7.2 Election Outcome

Six nominations have been received:

- 1. Naomi Pinzone
- 2. Megan LeRoy
- 3. Larry Lucano
- 4. Justin Pisconeri
- 5. Jeanette Stampone
- 6. Nelly Barr

These nominations fill all the vacant positions, therefore no need for voting.

8.0 MEETING CLOSURE

The meeting was declared closed at 6.55pm.

SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL POSITIONS

After the AGM, the Advisory Council met informally to decide on positions. The following was agreed:

Chairperson Larry Lucano
Vice Chairperson Jeanette Stampone
Secretary Naomi Pinzone
Treasurer Bronwyn Webb

P&F Reps Simone Magno / Camille Odorisio

Board Member Nelly Barr
Board Member Justin Pisconeri
Board Member Megan LeRoy

It was also agreed that the meetings will be held on the second Thursday of the month (term time) at 5.30pm. The first meeting of 2021 will be held on Thursday 11th February.